S.O.A.P Approach: SCRIPTURE - Observation - APPLICATION - Prayer

JOURNEY CONTINUES (1 JOHN & ESTHER)

Friends,  
         
Describing himself during his college and post-college days, a friend once told me how he would roll over on Sunday mornings and think, "one of these days I'm going to go back to church” ... then he'd lay there for a minute.  And soon after that he’d think, “Yep, I’m going to go back to church, but it won’t be today."  Aren't we all a little like that?  "One of these days, I'm going to make time to serve."  "One of these days, I'm going to give ten percent for God's work;"  "One of these days I'm going to read the Bible for myself."  But we all doze, don't we?  We put God off.  And then, in a flash, something happens.  Friends, now is the time to prepare.  
           
There is not a person reading these words whose routine or structure hasn’t been altered these past six months, right?  And now, with schools having started back, there is yet another seismic shift.  During tumultuous, chaotic times like these, healthy routines and structure are vitally important.  They can help us avoid losing ourselves by helping us remember who and whose we are. 

Starting Tuesday, Oct. 20 we will continue the journey together.  Join me in reading an average of 28-30 verses of Scripture each day, using the SOAP approach- Scripture, Observation, Application and Prayer to lock it in.  On Tuesday, read 1 John 1:1-2:15.  In a notebook, write “1 John 1:1-2:15.”  Below that write “O” and jot 1-2 brief observations about the passage.  Below that write “A” and list an application - how those verses can be applied in your life.  Finally, “P:”  pray, by lifting praise and thanks to God, as well as lifting concerns.  After you pray, jot a summary of your prayer joys and concerns.  The next day, Wednesday, go through the same process with 1 John 2:16-3:24.  In sixteen days, fifteen minutes a day, you will read through 1 John & Esther, experiencing God in a new way.

The passages for each day will be HERE (website Quick Link) and at the bottom of the *Daily Devotionals. 

Also, for those who are interested, Douglass and I will be offering 50-minute discussion groups at 11 am and again at 7 pm (in-person or via Zoom) starting Wednesday, 10/21.  If you’re interested in a discussion group, email [email protected] and let us know whether you’d prefer 11 am or 7 pm, and in-person or via Zoom.  Now is the time.
 
For such a time as this,

Brad
 
“Your Word, O God, is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”   Psalm 119:105

*email Blythe Lewis if you'd like to get on our Daily Devotional distribution list.

s.o.a.p. approach: book of 1 john & esther

Tuesday, October 20           1 John 1:1-2:15
Wednesday, October 21      1 John 2:16-3:24
Thursday, October 22          Esther 1:1-9
Friday, October 23               Esther 1:10-22
Saturday, October 24          Esther 2:1-11
Sunday, October 25            Esther 2:12-23
Monday, October 26            Esther 3:1-15
Tuesday, October 27           Esther 4:1-17
Wednesday, October 28      Esther 5:1-14
Thursday, October 29          Esther 6:1-11
Friday, October 30               Esther 6:12-7:10
Saturday, October 31           Esther 8:1-8
Sunday, November 1            Esther 8:9-17
Monday, November 2           Esther 9:1-19
Tuesday, November 3          Esther 9:20-32
Wednesday, November 4     Esther 10:1-3